2008 Awards

Hong Kong Press Photographers Association
  • Winner and First runner-up in Spot News
  • Winner in Photo Essay
INMA Awards (International Newspaper Marketing Association)
  • “Viral Video Campaign”, Winner in Online Audience Usage and Engagement (circulation 75,000-300,000)
  • The SOPA Awards (Society of Publishers in Asia) Winner:
    • Local Journalist Awards – English Language
      Didi Kirsten Tatlow
    • Reporting of Breaking News
      “HKIEd Inquiry Fallout”, Denise Hung, Polly Hui, Liz Gooch
    • Business Reporting
      “Risky Business: Gaming in Macau and Beyond”, Neil Gough
    • Reporting on the Environment
      “Xiamen’s Chemical Reaction”, Didi Kirsten Tatlow
    • Opinion Writing
      “Monitor”, Jake van der Kamp
    • News Photography
      “Pain at Queen’s Pier”, Martin Chan
    • Editorial Cartooning
      “Harry’s View Election Special”, Harry Harrison
    • Magazine Front Cover Design
      Post Magazine – “One Man’s Meat”, Steve Ellul
    • Honourable Mention:
      Human Rights Reporting
      “Death in Thailand”, Greg Torode
    • Newspaper Design
      Sunday Morning Post, Steve Ellul, Troy Dunkley, Carl Bell-Jones, Ung Mah Peng, Alex Price, Phil Kennedy, David Sutton, Terry Pontikos, Chris Walton
    • The Scoop Award
      “Macau Chief’s Casino Stake”, Neil Gough
    Asia Media Awards 2008 by IFRA
    • Gold Award, Newspaper Front Page (Circulation below 50,000 copies)
    • Gold Award, Newspaper Design (Circulation over 100,000 copies)
    • Gold Award, Best in Newspaper Design (Circulation below 100,000 copies)
    • Judges’ Special Recognition, Best in Online Media (Circulation over 100,000 copies)
    • Best in Infographics Award, Breaking News (Circulation over 100,000 copies)
    • Bronze Award, Sports Photography of the Best in Photojournalism
    • Bronze Award, Feature Photography of the Best in Photojournalism
    • Bronze award, Best in Special Coverage Newspaper Special Section (Circulation over 100,000 copies)
    The 12th Annual Human Rights Press Awards
    Top Prizes
    • Didi Kirsten Tatlow, Joey Liu – General News
    • Richard Jones (Post Magazine) – Feature Photojournalism
    • Didi Kirsten Tatlow – General News
    • Richard Jones (Post Magazine) – Magazines
    • Oliver Tsang – Photojournalism
    • Ricky Chung – Photojournalism
    • Ricky Chung – Photojournalism
    The Best of Newspaper Design Creative Competition (The Society for News Design)
    • Award of Excellence for Overall Newspaper Redesign
    • Two Awards of Excellence for Individual Illustration Portfolio, Terry Pontikos & Craig Stephens
    Hong Kong News Awards 2007
    The South China Morning Post received 13 prizes, with a clean sweep in the best scoop category
    • Greg Torode, Winner, Best Scoop
    • Neil Gough & Cheung Chi-fai, First Runner up, Best Scoop
    • Barclay Crawford, Second Runner up, Best Scoop
    • Neil Gough, Merit, Best Business News Reporting
    • Mary Ann Benitez, Winner, Best Science News Reporting
    • Joey Liu, Winner, Best News Writing (English)
    • Joyce Siu, Second Runner up, Best News Writing (English)
    • Kandy Wong, Winner, Best Business News Writing (English)
    • Neil Gough, First Runner up, Best Business News Writing (English)
    • Paul Buck, First Runner up, Best Headline (English)
    • Martin Chan, Winner, Best News Photography
    • Robert Ng, Merit, Best News Photography
    • Dustin Shum, First Runner up, Best Sport Photography