South China Morning Post Honored with 12 Awards in the Society of Publishers in Asia Editorial Awards

Hong Kong, June 12, 2009 – The South China Morning Post and the Sunday Morning Post cemented their reputation once again for newspaper excellence by scooping twelve awards, including the Journalist of the Year Award – English language, in the 2009 Society of Publishers in Asia Awards for Editorial Excellence.

With a track record of breaking exclusive and insightful stories with the Post, Greg Torode was named the local English language journalist of the year. He has also won the Scoop Award with his articles on an oil controversy involving China, Vietnam and oil giant ExxonMobil.

The panel of judges praised Torode’s "strong regional coverage" and his articles for being "authoritative and wide-ranging".

Honorable mentions came in the environmental reporting category, for Shi Jingtao’s expose on the human and environmental costs of the extensive construction of river dams in China and in the digital journalism category for a piece by the news and multimedia team on the controversy over the use of Hong Kong public spaces.

Commenting on the outstanding achievements, Editor C.K. Lau said the overall results were a credit to the SCMP team. "They reflect the hard work and professionalism of our staff. We will do our best to maintain high standard s for our readers." said Lau.

Established in 1999 as a tribute to editorial excellence in both traditional and new media, the Society of Publishers in Asia Awards was designed to honor excellence and to encourage editorial vitality throughout the region.

List of the 12 awards won by South China Morning Post
1 Award of Excellence – Investigative Reporting
2 Honorable Mention – Human Rights Reporting
3 Honorable Mention – Reporting on the Environment
4 Award of Excellence – Excellence in Feature Writing
5 Award of Excellence – Excellence in Opinion Writing
6 Honorable Mention – Excellence in News Photography
7 Award of Excellence – Excellence in Special Issue or Special Section (Beijing Olympics)
8 Award of Excellence – Excellence in Information Graphics
9 Award of Excellence – Excellence in Newspaper Design
10 Honorable Mention – Excellence in Digital Journalism
11 Award of Excellence – The Scoop Award (Mr Greg Torode)
12 Award of Excellence – Journalist of the Year (Mr Greg Torode)


About South China Morning Post

The South China Morning Post is Hong Kong’s premier English language newspaper and has the city’s most affluent and influential readership. First published in 1903, the newspaper has developed an enviable reputation for authoritative, influential and independent reporting on Hong Kong, China and the rest of Asia. Its online platform,, reaches a global audience of China watchers with daily breaking news, multimedia articles and interactive forums. Striving to maintain the highest standards among the world’s quality newspapers, the South China Morning Post receives constant international recognition. It has won 39 awards in 2006 for excellence in editorial, marketing and technical capability.

About SOPA

The Society of Publishers in Asia (SOPA) was founded in 1982. It represents the interests of many notable international, regional and local newspaper, magazine and digital publishers as well as related industry partners in Asia. SOPA is dedicated to best practices in professional publishing and committed to responsible journalism. Visit SOPA website at

For media enquiry, please contact:

Polly Leong
Marketing & Communications
Tel: (852) 2680 8888
Fax: (852) 2680 8158