Dr. The Hon. Sir David Li Kwok-po of Bank of East Asia, Limited Named “Business Person of the Year” at DHL/SCMP Hong Kong Business Awards 2006

Sir C.K. Chow of MTR Corporation wins Executive Award

Hong Kong, 14 December 2006: DHL, the world’s leading express and logistics company, and the South China Morning Post today announced that Dr. The Hon. Sir David Li Kwok-po,, Chairman and Chief Executive of Bank of East Asia, Limited, has been chosen as Business Person of the Year for 2006.

The DHL/SCMP Hong Kong Business Awards judging committee has also named Sir C.K. Chow, Chief Executive Officer of MTR Corporation, as the winner of the Executive Award while Paul Cheung Kwok Wing, Chairman and Co-founder of Kingboard Chemical Holdings Limited, won the Owner-Operator Award. BALtrans Holdings Limited clinched the International Award, while Regina Miracle International Limited took the Enterprise Award.

Dr. The Hon. Sir David Li Kwok-po was lauded for his positive contribution to the further development of Hong Kong, as well as for his outstanding and sustained contribution to his organization.

Dr. Li oversees the activities of Bank of East Asia, Hong Kong’s largest independent local bank which was incorporated in 1918 and is one of the constituent stocks of the Hang Seng Index with consolidated assets of HK$263.3 billion of 30 June 2006.

"Under his leadership, the bank has achieved record-breaking results for consecutive years. In 2005, the bank posted a profit of HK$2,749 million, 17 per cent up on 2004. Net profit for the first six months this year jumped 32.3 per cent and total consolidated assets grew 24 per cent. The bank has one of the most extensive foreign bank networks in China, and was one of the first to receive Qualified Domestic Institutional Investor status, allowing it to overseas investment services to local residents and enterprises." said Professor Yue-Chim Richard Wong, the Chairman of DHL/SCMP Hong Kong Business Award 2006 Judging Panel. "Other than his excellent managerial performance, Dr. Li plays an equally important role in public services. He is a long-serving Legislative Councillor, representing the Finance Constituency since 1985, and is also an Executive Councillor."

The DHL/SCMP Hong Kong Business Awards 2006 judging panel was chaired by Professor Yue-Chim Richard Wong, who is Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Professor of Economics, The University of Hong Kong, and included representatives from The Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce; DHL Express; The South China Morning Post; Junior Chamber International Hong Kong; The Chinese General Chamber of Commerce; Hong Kong Exchanges & Clearing Limited; The Hong Kong Trade Development Council; and The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited.

They also included last year’s winners – Dr. K S Lo of Great Eagle Holdings Limited; Mr. Alfred W K Chan of The Hong Kong and China Gas Company Limited; Dr. Chow Yei Ching of Chevalier International Holdings Limited; Mr. Albert Wong of Eastern Worldwide Company Limited; Mr. Martin So of A.S. Watson Group; and Mr. Cheah Cheng Hye of Value Partners Limited.

Connie Tang, General Manager, DHL Express Hong Kong, noted: "Successful people drive successful companies, and I am delighted to congratulate this year’s winners, each of whom will undoubtedly become an inspiration for many young entrepreneurs and businessmen in Hong Kong. They are the foundation of our city’s achievements, and it is because of them that Hong Kong has been able to capitalise on the increasing amount of opportunities presented by key markets around the world."

"Year after year, we find ourselves impressed again by the varied stories of the city’s most accomplished business people," said Mark Clifford, Editor in Chief, SCMP. "Though each one of them demonstrates success in different settings, they all show us excellence in leadership, innovation, adaptation to change, entrepreneurial drive, perseverance, and their ability to rise to the occasion and establish themselves as positive role models for their organizations." He continued, "It is therefore without surprise that, through our rigorous judging process, this year’s award winners again embrace these critical qualities."

– ends –

About DHL

DHL is the global market leader of the international express and logistics industry, specializing in providing innovative and customized solutions from a single source.

DHL offers expertise in express, air and ocean freight, overland transport, contract logistic solutions as well as international mail services, combined with worldwide coverage and an in-depth understanding of local markets. DHL’s international network links more than 220 countries and territories worldwide. 285,000 employees are dedicated to providing fast and reliable services that exceed customers’ expectations.

DHL is a Deutsche Post World Net brand. The group generated revenues of €45 billion in 2005.

About SCMP Group Limited

SCMP Group Limited (SEHK: 583) is a leading newspaper and magazine publisher in Asia. Its flagship publication, South China Morning Post, is the leading English language newspaper in Hong Kong and has the city’s most affluent and influential readership. Other publication titles of the group include the Sunday Morning Post, the Chinese editions of Cosmopolitan, Harper’s Bazaar, CosmoGirl! Maxim and Automobile magazines.

To learn more about the SCMP Group, go to scmpgroup.com.

About DHL/SCMP Hong Kong Business Awards

The Hong Kong Business Awards were established by DHL and the South China Morning Post in 1990 to acknowledge publicly the vital contributions made by individuals and by companies in maintaining and expanding the economic viability and international stature of Hong Kong; and to encourage and sustain the Hong Kong entrepreneurial spirit and highlight and recognize excellent standards of corporate management.

There are four categories for individuals, namely, Business Person of the Year Award, Executive Award, Owner-Operator Award and Young Entrepreneur Award; and two for companies, namely, International Award and Enterprise Award. In addition, a Lifetime Achievement Award will be given at the discretion of the judging panel in any judging year if they feel it is appropriate. Nominations are made by individuals or by public or private organizations. Nominees who meet the criteria for the respective categories will be invited to participate. Those who accept the nominations will submit supporting documents for the judging panel, who will vote for a winner for each category.

Over the past sixteen years, the DHL/SCMP Hong Kong Business Awards has successfully established its status as one of the most prestigious and authoritative business awards in Hong Kong.

Issued by Professional Public Relations Asia on behalf of DHL/SCMP Hong Kong Business Awards.

For further information, please contact: –

Professional Public Relations Asia
Tony Turner Tel: (852) 3111 9928 Email : tturner@ppr.com.hk
Helen Lo Tel: (852) 3111 9966, 9600 6260 Email : hlo@ppr.com.hk